The Beginning

Chapter 2
The Beginning

Her physical beauty drew men to her. As I drove home, closing late from church I realized this was the second time I have seen her. I drove back to the point where she stood. My heart raced. This would be the first time I have ever ministered outside the confines of the church. I turned back to leave but the Spirit of God pulled me back.

Bracing myself, I walked up to her. So self-conscious was I that my steps were wobbly. She stopped walking when she noticed me. She stared at me with eyes drawn together.

“You are beautiful,” I said. It was all I could think of to say. I was out of my comfort zone and I couldn’t find the right words to say.

She laughed and replied, “I know.”

“There is someone I would like you to meet.”

After a pause, she said,

“I charge Two Thousand Naira per hour. I work for six hours.”

Without thinking, I replied. “I will pay.”

She walked with me to my car and I drove off to the children’s park close by. Although it was late, it was well lit. A security post was stationed nearby. We sat down on a bench. Silently I prayed for wisdom.

“So, who is this person I am to meet?” she asked with a frown.

I pulled out my bible and said,
“His name is Jesus.”

“You can’t be serious. Are you one of those religious fanatics?” she asked with a frown.

Smiling I said, “I am a fanatic for Jesus.”

“Yeah right. I should leave.” She got up to walk away.

“Why are you leaving? I agreed to pay you, did I not?”

When she nodded her head albeit reluctantly, I continued,

“Then why are you leaving?” I asked her again…………….

Excerpt From Timeless Love: 15 Flash Fiction Stories

new timeless love

Leave a Reply

