Let This Be The Night

The temple gate opens,
My heart embraces the restorative power of the first rains of Your grace,
My tears flow without ceasing – not from pain but from joy,
I realize that in You is where I must be.
Into my heart Your word enters,
Darkness within me is dispelled and light is brought forth,
I cast myself down at Your feet.
As I seek Your presence and restoring grace,
My soul cries out – Let this be the night oh Lord! Let this be the night.

The loneliness within me is ousted,
Rancor is replaced with love,
The malice that consumes me becomes kindness,
I praise and adore You from the depths of my heart.
As I marvel in awe at Your awesome might,
My soul cries out- Let this be the night oh Lord! Let this be the night.

I realize that You are bigger than what people say,
I acknowledge You in all my ways,
My fear about tomorrow is expelled,
And hope is renewed within me.
I see the road before me as a path towards my beginning,
I see You in the loses I have and will receive,
I know that my weeping will only endure a while.
As I realize that my joy is near,
My soul cries out – Let this be the night oh Lord! Let this be the night.

I seek only to trust You – relying not on my understanding,
But on the wisdom that comes from the One who created the heavens and the earth,
I am no longer consumed with hate,
Vengeance is replaced with forgiveness,
I am moved from this valley of despair to a mountain top of peace.
As I realize that it is the peace only You can give,
My soul cries out – Let this be the night oh Lord! Let this be the night.

I will tarry from midnight to the break of dawn,
I wait upon You oh Lord,
For there is no path I wish to take – except to walk in Your loving presence.
I seek solace and redemption – for no more can I go on.
As I stand still and look up to the heavens,
My soul cries out words that my heart conceives,
“Only You Lord can save me. Let this be the night oh Lord I surrender all! Let this be the night.”

By Edith Edremoda

Leave a Reply

