A Lamp For My Feet

“I interpret as I should, following the command of Christ: ‘Search the Scriptures,’ and ‘Seek and you shall find.’ For if, as Paul says, Christ is the power of God and the wisdom of God, and if the man who does not know Scripture does not know the power and wisdom of God, then ignorance of Scriptures is ignorance of Christ.” St Jerome

lamp-204649_640

In two earlier posts, we talked about Love and Forgiveness as expressions of true christian spirituality. In this post, I want to talk about The Word of God as another expression.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”

For us believers, the Word is everything to us, because the Word is God. It is the reason we are who we are. We can discuss the word of God using different scriptures but I would rather focus on one scripture for this post.

The Psalmist sang; “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path”

Each day of our lives, we walk on paths that either leads us closer to God or further away. There are times when darkness settles around us; times when it seems like it is about to consume us. The word of God at such moments flares up within us and becomes a flaming torch to the path we choose to take. A torch that helps dispels that darkness.

When we study the Word of God written in the Holy bible and in the process allow the Holy Spirit to teach us the right path to follow in our daily lives, we express one of the forms of true Christian spirituality. It is only through reading and reflecting on the Word can we truly be able to differentiate between right and wrong. Only then can we truly know the heart of our Father.

I know how difficult it is sometimes to pick up the Bible and read it.

Trust me I know.

With so many “good stuff” on TV, Radio Stations and Internet to watch and listen to, it becomes a major battle for one to read just a simple verse in the bible daily.
There was a time in my life when I didn’t even know where my Bible was in my house.

When I did finally get back the desire to read it, I just couldn’t motivate myself enough.

Want to know what I did?

I went straight for the book of the bible that would hold my interest first. My desire was to start from there and then build up my interest with the help of the Holy Spirit.

I am a true romantic so you can just guess the book I started with. Ruth! of course…

As crazy as it sounds, from that one book, I ended up reading all the books of the bible.

Now my friends, I can’t say I have a theology degree but I can say that I do know the Word. I know the Word enough, that I can allow it be the light unto the part I am taking right now.

A path that has led me to the point where I am blogging about the WORD.

Leave a Reply

