Ooh Child, Forgive..

even-if-you-are-my-enemy

Have you ever said to someone who offends or hurts you, “There is no way I am going to forgive you for what you did.” or maybe “I forgive you but i just can’t forget what you did.”

There are so many times I have been hurt by those I love and even mere acquaintances that I know how difficult it is to forgive the person and let go of all the pains and bad memories. The fact remains that as a Christian it is one of the things I must learn to embrace and do.

Based on my first post expressions of true christian spirituality, I am going to write on the next form of expression- Forgiveness.

“forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us….”

A portion of the Lord’s prayer we all struggle to embrace. But we have to. We must. It is part of who we are as Christians. I know how difficult it is to forgive and forget. I know because I have been hurt so many times by those I love and trust. sometimes, I feel there is just no way I can let go of the pain and even if I could I would not be able to forget the bad memories. Days and months pass and I realize that I have let go of the hurt and memories.

How was I able to do it?
Simple, I asked for help from the Holy Spirit and also confronted those who hurt me.

There is a saying, “It is better to debate a problem without settling it than to settle a problem without a debate.”

Talking to the person who has hurt you in instances where you can reach the person is a therapeutic way of confronting your hurt. It allows you the opportunity to let go of anger and resentment.

Another way is to just look forward to the next day. Look forward to the future and see beyond the pain however difficult it may seem at that moment. I achieve this by simply listening to songs that minister to the pain. There are many out there if you search and I find that they take me to a place far away from my anger and pain to the point I just forget.

Here is one of such songs,

THE FIVE STAIRSTEPS- OOH CHILD

Ooh-oo child
Things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child
Things’ll get brighter
Ooh-oo child
Things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child
Things’ll get brighter
Some day, yeah
We’ll get it together and we’ll get it all done
Some day
When your head is much lighter
Some day, yeah
We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun
Some day
When the world is much brighter
Ooh-oo child
Things are gonna be easier
Ooh-oo child
Things’ll get be brighter
Ooh-oo child
Things are gonna be easier
Ooh-oo child
Things’ll get be brighter
Some day, yeah
We’ll get it together and we’ll get it all done
Some day
When your head is much lighter
Some day, yeah
We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun
Some day
When the world is much brighter
Some day, yeah
We’ll get it together and we’ll get it all done
Some day
When your head is much lighter
Some day, yeah
We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun
Some day
When the world is much brighter
Ooh-oo child
Things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child
Things’ll get brighter
Ooh-oo child
Things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child
Things’ll get brighter
Right now, right now

Remember, forgiveness is a gradual healing process and with time and God’s grace you will find yourself free of its hold and limitations.

One thought on “Ooh Child, Forgive..

Leave a Reply

