Timeless Love

Excerpt from Timeless Love

AMAZON_TIME_2_converted

A Loud Cry

The land of fragrance was in a flurry of activity. The loud voices of men filled the air as I sat down and waited in anticipation. In awe, I listened with rapt attention, absorbing all that was said about Him. They could not stop talking. Excitement filled their voices. Could this be? Was He truly passing by? I asked myself.

The stories the men told of Him were extraordinary. I have heard the stories and many more before. But as they spoke today, I believed. Sighing heavily I reminisced in anguish. This is my only chance. I cannot afford to miss this opportunity. I am tired of living this way; tired of living each day at the mercy of others. With great determination, I continued sitting down, waiting patiently for His arrival.

I could hear the crowd around me. The heavy footsteps of men walking, the beautiful sounds of children running, the echoes from the dancing feet of women all joined to create a rhythm that made my soul want to dance . A smile crept on my lips. Hope at last. He was coming.

By the road I waited. Not in reproachful misery but in joyful anticipation. The sounds changed. The shouts became louder, the singing more joyful and the laughter more contagious. At that moment all I wanted was to catch His attention as He passed by.

With the scores of people it seemed impossible. What could I do to make Him notice?
*****

Timeless Love is an anthology of fourteen flash fiction and short stories now on sale on Amazon #kindle Countdown deal

Edith

Leave a Reply

